新加坡结肠癌筛查类型

检查结肠的三种主要方法为:结肠镜检查、钡灌肠和电脑断层扫描(CT)结肠造影(又称虚拟结肠镜检查)。这三种方法都需要病患事先清理肠道,以便让医生清楚地看到整段的结肠。

最准确、最常见和受推荐的结肠癌筛查是结肠镜检查。它不仅提供了结肠的清晰影像,也能让医生获取组织样本来进行活检,并当场切除异常生长。

1. 结肠镜检查

结肠镜检查被认作结肠癌筛查最理想的方法。将一个装有照明和摄像机且可弯曲的小管子从肛门插入,并一路穿过结肠,为医生提供高质量的结肠内部实时图像。

如果发现任何异常生长,医生可以当场切除或取出细胞组织进行活检,以确定是否癌变。

此程序一般在麻醉状态下进行,所以过程是无痛的。术后,您可能只会感到轻微的不适,如腹胀等。结肠壁穿孔属于罕见的并发症,而在有经验的结直肠外科医生手中,这种情况不太可能发生的。

欲了解关于这项诊断技术的更多信息,请访问何国申医生的专网:新加坡结肠镜检查诊所

2. 钡灌肠

钡灌肠的检查方式是使用管子插入肛门,通过管子将钡倒入肛门。随后让病人翻身,以便钡能流经整个结肠。在这之后,再将钡排出来,然后通过管子泵入空气,使结肠充气膨胀(以便得到更清晰的图像)。病患将被要求转换不同姿势拍摄X光图像。

3. CT结肠造影(虚拟结肠镜检查)

CT结肠造影的检查方式是将一根管子插入肛门,并通过管子泵入1至1.5公升的空气使结肠膨胀,然后让病患仰卧在CT扫描仪上进行静脉注射以及扫描。之后,病人得俯卧并重复同样的步骤。结肠的虚拟图像由此产生。

3种筛查方法的比较

目前,钡灌肠筛查几乎已被CT结肠造影所取代。与结肠镜检查相比,CT结肠造影的主要优势是穿孔率较低(0.05%对比结肠镜0.10%)。一些患者也担心进行结肠镜能感觉到结肠插管的侵入性。

CT结肠造影不在麻醉状态下进行,所以当空气被泵入时,大多数病患将感到胀气或不适。造影也需使用辐射,另外静脉注射造影剂时则带肾脏损伤的轻微风险。CT结肠造影的准确性比结肠镜检查也略低一些。

最重要的区别是,CT结肠造影只能诊断和检测息肉和癌症的存在,仍然需进行结肠镜来切除息肉或活检任何可疑区域来检测癌症。

血液检测

  • 癌胚抗原(CEA)
    这是一种常用于检测结肠癌的血液检查。其缺点是它的灵敏度只有70%左右。这意味着30%的癌症患者CEA数值可能属正常;此外,并非所有CEA数值高的人都一定患有癌症。

    因此,此检测不是一项诊断结肠癌的决定性测试,目前已不被推荐为检测结肠癌的筛查。然而,由于缺乏其他血液检查的选项,一些人仍选择进行该检查。
  • 粪便隐血试验
    此测试用于检测粪便中是否有肉眼看不到的出血迹象。测试采集粪便样本,并在48小时内送去检测。这项血液检测是基于此假设:当粪便经过一个大型息肉或恶性肿瘤时将可能导致出血,因此粪便中会混有肉眼不可见的血。

    粪便隐血试验的准确度在70-85%之间,取决于用来分析粪便血液的测试类型。这意味着每100名确诊的结直肠癌患者中,有15到30人的粪便检测实际上是阴性的。此外,一些较旧的检测方法或不方便,需要病患在测试前几天禁食肉类和其他食物。粪便样本储存不当或任何延迟处理也会影响其准确性。

    然而,尽管粪便隐血试验有以上的局限,但由于其可负担性和便利性,适合作为一个全民性的筛选方法。然而,它亦不是结肠癌的决定性测试,只能作为一个警告信号,提醒病患去接受更详尽的结肠检查。
Top

Types of Colon Cancer Screening in Singapore

The three main ways to examine the colon are: colonoscopy, barium enema and computer tomography (CT) colonography (aka virtual colonoscopy). All three methods require the patient to clear their bowels beforehand so that the doctor can obtain a clear view of the entire length of the colon.

The most accurate, common and recommended form of colon screening is a colonoscopy, as it not only allows for clear visualization of the colon, it also allows the doctor to obtain tissue samples for biopsies and remove abnormal growths on the spot.

1. Colonoscopy

Colonoscopy is regarded as the ideal standard for colon cancer screening. A small, flexible tube containing a light and camera is inserted through the anus, and advanced all the way through the colon. This gives the doctor high quality and real-time images of the inside of the colon.

Should any abnormal growths be found, they can be removed on the spot or taken for a biopsy, which will determine with certainty if it is cancerous or not.

This procedure is usually performed under sedation, so it is painless. After the procedure, you may only feel minor discomfort such as bloating. A rare complication is perforation of the colon wall, but it is very unlikely in the hands of an experienced colorectal surgeon.

Learn more about this diagnostic technology, in Dr Ho Kok Sun's dedicated website: Colonoscopy Clinic Singapore.

2. Barium Enema

The barium enema method involves the insertion of a tube into the anus, through which a bag of white liquid (barium) will be poured in. The patient will then be rotated so that the barium can flow through the entire length of the colon. After this is done, the barium will be drained back out. Air will then be pumped in through the tube so as to inflate the colon (providing a clearer view), and x-ray images will be taken with the patient in different positions.

3. CT Colonography (Virtual Colonoscopy)

Here, a tube will be inserted through the anus and 1 to 1.5 liters of air will be pumped in to inflate the colon. The patient will then lie on his back in the CT scanner, given an intravenous injection and the scan will be performed. The patient will then lie on his stomach and the same process is repeated. The virtual image of the colon will then be generated.

Comparing the 3 Screening Methods

Barium enema nowadays is near obsolete and have been replaced by CT colonography. The main advantage of CT colonography over colonoscopy is that the perforation rate is lower (0.05% versus 0.10% for colonoscopy). Some patients also worry about the “perceived” invasiveness of having a tube go into the colon.

CT colonoscopy is not performed under sedation, so most will feel some bloating/discomfort when the air is pumped in. There is also radiation involved, as well as an injection of intravenous contrast, which has a minor risk of kidney injury. Accuracy of CT colonography is also slightly lower than colonoscopy.

The most important difference is that CT colonography can only diagnose and pick up polyps and cancers, but would still need a colonoscopy to remove the polyps or to biopsy any suspicious area to test for cancer.

BLOOD TESTS

  • Carcino-Embryonic Antigen (CEA)
    This is a blood test that is commonly used to screen for colon cancer. Unfortunately, it only has a sensitivity level of about 70%. This means that 30% of cancer patients might have a normal CEA level; and besides, not all people with high CEA levels necessarily have cancer.

    As such, this is not a definitive test for colon cancer, and is no longer recommended as a test for screening for colon cancer. However, some still prefers to check their CEA for the lack of other alternative blood tests.
  • Stool Occult Blood Test
    This test is used to detect the presence of blood in stools – blood not visible to the naked eye. This involves taking a stool sample and sending it for testing within 48 hours. This blood test is based on the assumption that as stool passes a large polyp or cancer, it will bleed and the stool will be mixed with blood not visible to the naked eye.

    Depending on the type of test used to analyze the stools for blood, the accuracy level is between 70-85%. This means that for every 100 patients with confirmed colorectal cancer, 15-30 of them actually have a negative stool test. Furthermore, some older tests can be inconvenient and require one to abstain from meat and other food for a few days before the test. Improper storage or any delay in processing the stool sample will also affect accuracy levels.

    However, in spite of its limitations, this serves as a suitable population-wide general screening tool due to its affordability and convenience. However, it is certainly not a conclusive test for colon cancer; it simply indicates a warning sign for one to go for a more detailed colon screening.
Top