在新加坡,您所需知道的结肠癌手术相关信息

只能通过手术治疗结肠癌吗?

事实上,结肠癌手术是结肠外科医生唯一所能提供的彻底治愈结肠癌的方法。其他治疗方法如化疗等较适合作为辅助治疗,而不是单独性治疗。因为这些方法只会降低发病风险,而并不一定能治愈结肠癌。

在结肠癌的治疗中,最重要的是去除受癌症影响的结肠部分,以及周围包含淋巴结的部分,一般上癌症都会扩散到那里。受影响的部分被移除后,将结肠的其余部分重新连接在一起,让肠道运作不受影响。

结肠癌手术的类型

  • 开腹手术
  • 腹腔镜手术
  • 单创口腹腔镜手术
  • 机器人手术

1.开腹手术

这是传统的结肠癌手术方法。术中,医生将在腹部中央位置切一个长切口(10至30厘米长),此方法能够方便医生查看结肠的所有区域,而成为首选的手术方法。

然而,开腹手术因此会导致腹部中央的核心肌肉出现长形切口,也因此需要更长的恢复期以及可能带来更强烈的疼痛。

2.腹腔镜手术

这是现今结肠切除手术的首选方法。腹腔镜手术比传统的开腹手术要复杂许多,结肠外科医生只能通过在腹部周围的三到五个小切口进行切除手术,因此必须能熟练地操纵仪器。

3.单孔腹腔镜手术

这是近几年腹腔镜手术的新进展之一,只需在肚脐处做一个切口(2至5厘米)。医生将通过此单孔插入能传送影像的仪器以进行手术,通过切口将肿瘤和结肠的受影响部分切除。

4.机器人手术

这是一项极先进且现代化的微创手术类型。它与腹腔镜手术一样,只需要通过小切口来插入仪器。不同之处在于,机器人系统为结肠外科医生提供了3D视像、放大的视角,以及更高清晰度。这表示医生能够得到精准的深度知觉,并提高了在其他腹腔镜技术中所没有的精确度。

4种手术类型的比较

腹腔镜手术、单孔腹腔镜手术和机器人手术都被视为微创手术(锁孔手术)。在所有形式的手术中,无论是微创还是开腹手术,所进行的实际切割量都是一样的;唯一区别在于方法,即腹壁切口的大小以及所使用的的切割器材。

与开腹手术相比,微创(锁眼)手术的优势在于病患的疼痛程度较低,并恢复得更快。

目前,尚不清楚的是各种形式的微创手术的相对优势。研究表明机器人手术和腹腔镜手术的效果不相上下。不过,机器人手术相较于腹腔镜手术的费用更昂贵。

我需要做造口吗?

  • 什么是造口?
    造口是在腹部的人工开口,连接着小肠或大肠,使粪便能通过造口排入一个袋子。许多接受结肠癌手术的病患都担心他们可能需要做造口。
  • 谁需要永久性造口?
    需要永久性造口的情况并不常见。通常只有当癌症涉及肛门肌肉,并且需要切除肌肉以清除癌症时才会有的情况。如果切除了肛门肌肉并让肠子回归原位,病患将失去排便的控制能力。因此,医生或会建议制造永久性造口,以便将粪便收集到袋子。这样做将不会有任何泄漏或气味。
  • 谁需要临时造口?
    有些直肠癌病患的癌症位置较低,因此在切除结肠或直肠后,关节(吻合口)离肛门非常近。众所周知,吻合口离肛门越近,其愈合不良、伤口打开和严重感染的风险就越高。在这种情况下,外科医生可能选择做一个临时造口。这样可以使粪便远离吻合口,并避免在吻合口不能正常愈合的情况下出现重大溢出和感染。6至12周后,当吻合口愈合,再将造口关闭。
 

非手术治疗

市面上有许多不需要进行手术的治疗方案。然而,大部分都属于辅助治疗并被用于提高手术治疗的治愈率,或用来控制无法治愈的癌症。

这些方法包括:

  • 化疗

    这可以是口服药物或注射,作用是杀死癌细胞。

  • 靶向治疗

    我们对癌细胞的基因和蛋白质变化有了更深的了解。

    靶向治疗是可以影响这些变化的药物。这包括影响新血管的形成的药物(血管内皮生长因子或VEGF),癌细胞需要新血管的供血来生长;或EGFR(表皮生长因子受体蛋白),这是一种帮助癌细胞生长的蛋白质。另外,还有更多用来影响其他基因或蛋白质的药物。

    靶向治疗通常用于第四期癌症。

  • 免疫疗法

    此疗法使用药物以让人体免疫系统自身消灭癌细胞。

    一般情况,我们的免疫系统是可以摧毁癌细胞的,但癌细胞亦可能制造出屏蔽免疫反应的蛋白质。免疫治疗药物的作用便是对抗这些蛋白质,从而使免疫系统能够有效地摧毁癌细胞。免疫疗法适用于有某些基因变化的癌症。

放射疗法

此疗法使用辐射来杀死癌细胞。它最常用于治疗直肠癌,并不适合用于结肠的其他部位。放疗本身不能治愈癌症。

放疗适合在进行手术前将肿瘤缩小,使手术更简易、减少复发率。它也可用在直肠癌手术后,以减少复发。

 

结肠癌手术术后护理

这通常包括定期体检复查、结肠镜检查和其他的影像检查,以确保伤口按预期愈合,癌症不再复发。

在每次复查中,您的结肠外科医生也可能会进行癌胚抗原(CEA)血液检测;癌胚抗原升高表示有结肠癌复发的可能性。

Top

All You Need To Know About Colon Cancer Surgery in Singapore

Do I Really Need Surgery to Treat Colon Cancer?

Indeed, colon cancer surgery is the only treatment that a colon surgeon can offer for the definitive cure of colon cancer. While there are other treatment options such as chemotherapy, they are best used as supporting treatments, not as standalone treatments, as they merely reduce the risk of occurrence but do not always offer a cure.

In the treatment of colon cancer, the main point is to remove the part of the colon affected by cancer, along with surrounding areas containing the lymph nodes where the cancer would typically spread to. After the affected part of the colon is removed, the remaining part of the colon will be joined back together so bowel movements are not affected.

Types of Colon Cancer Surgery

  • Open Surgery
  • Laparoscopic Surgery
  • Single Port Incision Surgery
  • Robotic Surgery

1. Open Surgery

This is the traditional method of colon cancer surgery where a long incision (10 to 30cm long) is made through the center of the abdomen. This was preferred due to the easy access it provides to all areas of the colon.

However, this results in a large incision that cuts through the entire core muscle in the center, giving rise to longer recovery periods and greater pain.

2. Laparoscopic Surgery

This is the preferred method of colon resection surgery today. Laparoscopic surgery is more complex than traditional open surgery as the colon surgeon will have to skillfully maneuver his way around as there are only three to five small incisions around the abdomen to work with.

3. Single Port Incision Surgery

This is one of the latest advancements in laparoscopic surgery in the past few years. One incision (2 to 5cm) will be made at the navel. A camera and two instruments are inserted through this single “port” and the surgery is performed. The tumor and the affected part of the colon are then removed through this incision.

4. Robotic Surgery

A very advanced and modern type of minimally invasive surgery. Like a laparoscopy, it requires only small incisions to insert instruments. The difference is the robotic system provides a 3D view and greater magnification and clarity to the colon surgeon. This provides an accurate depth perception and increased level of precision not found in other forms of laparoscopic techniques.

Comparing the 4 Surgery Types

Laparoscopic surgery, single port incision surgery and robotic surgery are all considered minimally invasive surgery (keyhole surgery). The actual amount of cutting done in all forms of surgery, be it minimally invasive or open, is the same. The only difference is in the approach (large versus small incisions on the abdominal wall, and the instruments used to do the cutting).

The advantage of minimally invasive (keyhole) surgery compared to open surgery is well proven in patients’ lower level of pain and faster recovery.

What is unclear is the relative advantage of the various forms of minimally invasive surgery. Studies have shown that the results of robotic surgery and laparoscopic surgery are comparable with no advantage favouring one over the other. What is clear, though, is that robotic surgery is more expensive than laparoscopic surgery.

Do I Need a Stoma?

  • What is a Stoma?
    A stoma is an artificial opening created in the abdomen to allow the small or large intestines to come through and discharge the feces into a bag. Many patients who have to undergo surgery for colon cancer are concerned that they might need a stoma.
  • Who Needs a Permanent Stoma?
    It is not common to require a permanent stoma. This usually happens only if the cancer involves the anal muscles, and the muscles need to be removed to clear the cancer. If the anal muscles are removed, putting the intestines back there would lead to the loss of control of stools, hence these patients are offered a permanent stoma so that stools can be collected into a bag without any leakage or smell.
  • Who Needs a Temporary Stoma?
    In some patients with rectal cancer, the position of the cancer is low, hence after removing the colon/rectum, the joint (anastomosis) is very close to the anus. It is known that the closer the anastomosis is to the anus, the higher the risks of it not healing well, opening up and causing severe infection. In such cases, the surgeon may opt to bring out a temporary stoma. This diverts the faeces away from the anastomosis and avoids major spillage and infection if the anastomosis does not heal properly. The stoma is then closed up in 6-12 weeks’ time when the anastomosis has healed.
 

Non-surgical treatment

There are numerous treatment options that do not require surgery. However, most of these are used together to enhance cure rates of surgery, or used for control of the cancer in situations where it cannot be cured.

These includes:

  • Chemotherapy

    This may be an oral drug or injection that acts to kill the cancer cells.

  • Targeted therapy

    We know understand more about the genetic and protein changes in the cancer cells.

    Targeted therapy are drugs that affect these changes. This includes drugs that affect new blood vessel formation (Vascular Endothelia Growth Factor or VEGF protein) as cancer cells needs new blood vessels to supply blood for it to grow, or EGFR (Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor protein) which is a protein that helps cancer cells grow. There are also other drugs that act on other genes or proteins.

    Targeted therapy is typically used for stage 4 cancer

  • Immunotherapy

    These are drugs that help the body’s own immune system to destroy cancer cells.

    The immune system normally can destroy cancer cells, but cancer cells may produce proteins that turn off the immune response. Immunotherapy drugs act to turn off these proteins so that the immune system can destroy the cancer cells. Immunotherapy is used for cancers which show certain type of genetic changes.

Radiotherapy

This is to use radiation to kill cancer cells. It is most commonly used on rectal cancer, and not suitable for use elsewhere in the colon. Radiotherapy in itself is usually not a cure.

It may be used before surgery to shrink the tumour to make surgery easier and / or reduce recurrence rate, or use after rectal cancer surgery to reduce recurrence.

 

Post-Colon Cancer Surgery Care

This usually involves regular follow-ups for physical examinations, colonoscopies and other imaging tests to ensure that the wound is healing as expected and the cancer does not recur.

At each follow-up, your colon surgeon may also conduct a CEA blood test as a rising CEA may suggest a recurrence of colon cancer.

Top